This issue covers September 2026 permit activity, with recent City Council proposals added where they help explain what may be coming next.
September's Largest Projects
Rural King received a $1.84 million rooftop solar permit. ADM received a $1.36 million permit for laboratory space. And the North Main building associated with KC Finds and RTB Fitness now has a demolition permit.
Those three records capture different kinds of change: adding equipment to a familiar store, adding space to an industrial research facility, and preparing to remove a building whose roof problems have already affected local businesses.
September brought 197 permit and review records with $10.15 million in stated project value. For comparison, August had 212 records and $4.28 million.
The number of records fell about 7%, while stated value more than doubled. Six large permits account for roughly 57% of September's value, so the increase comes largely from a handful of projects. The costs are amounts stated in the permit records, not a tally of money already spent or work completed.
Here is what is actually changing around town.
Rural King Rooftop Solar
The month's largest permit covers rooftop solar at 1920 S. Mount Zion Road, the address of Rural King's Macon County store.
Issued September 29, the commercial building permit lists $1,840,764 in stated cost and describes the work simply as rooftop solar. Rural King is listed as owner.
That makes it a substantial investment at an existing retail property. The description doesn't give the system's capacity, installation schedule, or expected energy savings, so those details remain open.
It also changes how September's solar activity should be counted. Rural King's record was filed under the commercial building category rather than the solar category.
September had 34 solar-category permits totaling about $1.46 million. A separate $59,880 commercial building permit covers 37 roof panels at 3747 E. Route 36, home to Signature Salon. Adding that record and Rural King's permit brings the total to 36 solar-related records and $3.36 million. That is about one-third of all September stated value, already included in the monthly total.
At least 24 of the 34 solar-category descriptions also mention batteries or energy storage. Panels remain part of the story, but many of these projects include equipment for storing the power they generate.
ADM Adds Laboratory Storage Space
At 1001 N. Brush College Road (the James R. Randall Research Center), ADM received a $1,355,691 permit for an 850-square-foot addition to the west laboratory wing of its research and development facility.
The stated purpose is storage for the facility's chemicals. That gives us a specific scope: additional space serving an existing laboratory operation.
An August commercial building plan review appeared at the same address, but its description was blank. September's permit gives us a clearer picture of planned work there, although the records do not confirm whether the two entries concern the same project.
North Main Building Receives A Demolition Permit
The roof problems at the North Main property have already been in the news. Now a demolition permit adds another development to that story.

A $178,000 demolition permit covers one building identified by four addresses: 2807, 2809, 2815, and 2825 N. Main Street. It calls for complete removal, including footings and the building pad, followed by seeding. WTD LLC is listed as owner.
WTD Properties markets commercial space in Decatur, including properties at 2828 N. Main, 2875 N. Water, and 295 N. Franklin. WTD also appears as owner on August's $90,000 permit for the OneMain Financial office fit-up at 2828 N. Main, a project covered in last month's issue. The North Main demolition is another change within its local property holdings.
KC Finds occupied the former Ace Hardware space at 2809 N. Main. In May, WAND reported that owner Carol Kesler planned to close the store over recurring roof leaks and damage to merchandise. KC Finds now confirms its Decatur store is closed.
RTB Fitness was located at 2807 N. Main. In July, WCIA reported owner Matt Crawford's account of ongoing leaks and a call from WTD Properties telling him to leave by the end of August.
Both business addresses are part of the demolition permit's listed scope. The permit establishes permission to remove the building; it does not explain why demolition was chosen or identify a replacement project.
The property's recent history makes the record worth following. In April 2025, the city reported that KC Finds had invested more than $275,000 in remodeling and accessibility improvements. Council approved a sales-tax rebate agreement capped at $25,000. That was an agreement to rebate a portion of future sales tax, not confirmation that the full amount was paid.
For anyone following the tenant closings and departures, the demolition permit marks a next step for the building. What happens to the site after demolition remains to be seen.
New Housing
September included two permits whose descriptions clearly identify new single-family homes:
$828,704 at 33 Oak Ridge Drive for a home including foundation, framing, utilities, and finishes. The site is lakefront, off Lost Bridge Road.
$600,000 at 320 N. Timberlake Court for a new home and accessory structure. The site is in a newer subdivision south of William Street and north of the airport.
Together, those records represent about $1.43 million in stated value. They establish permitted construction, not completed homes or availability for sale.
A separate $600,000 residential permit on W. Lourdes Place describes construction of a triplex covering addresses 510, 520, and 530, with a stated value of $200,000 per unit.
Across the whole residential building category, September had 25 records totaling about $2.58 million. Alongside the larger projects were foundation repairs, structural stabilization, decks, sheds, and accessibility work. A $325,000 addition and renovation at 5 Forest Knolls was another sizable investment in an existing home.
Roof Work At The YMCA And St. Johns
Roofing was September's busiest record category: 55 permits totaling about $1.42 million, up from 40 permits and roughly $488,500 in August.
The largest was a $546,000 roof replacement at the Decatur YMCA's 220 W. McKinley Avenue property. Another $111,900 permit covers a new roof at St. Johns Lutheran Church, 2727 N. Union Street.
Those two records account for almost half the category's stated value. Even without the YMCA project, the other 54 roof permits total about $877,500.
Roof work can be less visible than a new building, but it represents spending to keep existing homes, businesses, and community facilities usable. September's records show that work continuing alongside the larger solar and building projects.
Existing Operations Add Equipment And Improvements
A $400,000 permit at 3998 E. Mueller Avenue describes an office remodel, two food-grade tank-wash bays, two service bays, and new wash equipment.
The description explicitly says the work does not add building area or change occupancy. It is an alteration to an existing facility. The address also received a separate $24,746 roof permit in September, following electrical work and a plan review in August.
At 203 E. Grand Avenue, two permits describe a Metronet fiber cabinet and its electrical service. The cabinet's stated value is $19,300; the electrical permit lists $7,500. That is a specific piece of communications infrastructure showing up in the month's records.
Stratas Foods is listed as owner on a $196,897 permit at 3600 E. Division Street. Its description covers framing, walls, ceilings, and doors. The available detail does not establish whether the work adds building area, so it belongs on the follow-up list before being described as an expansion.
Five Demolition Permits

The map shows September's issued demolition permits, not completed demolitions. Marker 1 represents the single North Main building covering four addresses.
September's five demolition permits total $201,245. The North Main building accounts for $178,000 of that amount.
The other four records cover:
439 E. Johnson Avenue: $6,745 for demolition, debris removal, backfill, and seeding. The City of Decatur is listed as owner.
1854 W. Division Street: $1,500 to remove a house and small shed and return the site to grass.
449 W. Sawyer Street: $13,000 for a house and garage.
4560 Lakewood Avenue: $2,000 for a garage and mobile home described as damaged by a fire in fall 2025.
City And Infrastructure Watch
The October 5 City Council agenda includes a proposed railroad agreement for the Brush College Road pump station and force main, the pressurized pipe that would carry wastewater to the sewer system. The packet describes the infrastructure as supporting development in the Rea's Bridge and Brush College area.
The same agenda includes proposed demolition and asbestos-removal agreements for 525 N. Church Street, an abandoned and dilapidated church on the corner of Eldorado. That property is separate from September's five issued demolition permits. Any resulting permit would belong in a later month's activity.
September At A Glance
The city classifications below include solar work filed as commercial building permits.
Record type | Records | Stated value |
|---|---|---|
Commercial building | 9 | $3,983,918.00 |
Residential building | 25 | $2,580,556.05 |
Solar photovoltaic systems | 34 | $1,460,976.00 |
Roof | 55 | $1,423,528.62 |
Demolition | 5 | $201,245.00 |
Plumbing | 23 | $122,241.00 |
Swimming pool | 2 | $118,900.00 |
Electrical | 15 | $91,360.00 |
Mechanical | 9 | $79,643.17 |
Boat dock | 2 | $36,000.00 |
Sign | 2 | $34,300.00 |
Fence | 7 | $19,395.30 |
Commercial building plan review | 6 | Not stated |
Certificate of occupancy | 2 | Not stated |
Consultation request | 1 | Not stated |
Total | 197 | $10,152,063.14 |
Monthly Summary
September brought sizable investment in Decatur businesses. Rural King's solar permit, ADM's laboratory addition, the YMCA roof, and the Mueller Avenue alterations all involve existing properties. The two new single-family homes and the Lourdes Place triplex add a housing component.
North Main shows a different outcome for an existing building. After public reports of roof problems and tenant disruption, the property now has permission for removal.
The higher monthly total tells us that several substantial projects reached the permit stage. The broader pattern remains a mix of building, repairing, adapting, and removing, with each site carrying its own story.
What To Watch Next
North Main: demolition progress, RTB's relocation details, and any documented plans for the cleared site.
Rural King: the rooftop solar system's size and installation timeline.
Mueller Avenue: further permits for the tank-wash and office alterations.
Commercial reviews: six September plan reviews include addresses on Water Street, Martin Luther King Jr. Drive, Maryland Street, Greenridge Drive, IL Route 48, and Lowber Street. Their descriptions are blank; later records may make the planned work clearer.
Brush College infrastructure: the outcome of the proposed railroad agreement and the pump station project's next steps.
Until next time,
Jason Ferguson


